21 Nov 2011 11:17AM
Thumbs Up

Rider: 80kg, Level intermediate
Style: Freestyle
Weather: 12 to 25 knots
Build Quality: 4/10
Satisfaction: 7/10
Disclosure: Totally Independent

I have a North Select 132cm ($1,300 worth) puchased Nov 09, so 2 years old. The current model 2012 is the same build. On one end, the board is cracking around the fin holes, toe side and heel side.
The worst cracks are on the heel side inner screw, cracks are about 1cm long on bothsides of the screw running across the board, so in the flex direction (not load direction).

The shop told me that North do not want to know about it and I should not waste there time as out of warrantee. Nice!

My questions - Does anyone else have or had this problem? Did the manufacturer fix it?
I am trying to gauge whether this is a common problem or just my board. I have been kiting for 7 years, this is my 3rd new board and the only one with an issue. I look forward to some feedback.

AKSonline
WA, 925 posts
Site Sponsor
21 Nov 2011 8:39AM
Thumbs Up

Hi Adrian,

Really hard to tell exactly what the problem is from that photo, but it looks as though the top layer of resin has cracked away from the carbon fibre strands. I think (and I may be wrong) that it is only a surface crack and shouldn't go any further than that.

Most likely fatigue from years of riding and potentially over tightening the screws or running the board into an object which may shock load the fin ??? Just thoughts.

I'd keep and eye on it, and if it were mine, I't put a little smear of resin in the countersink of the hole with the screws out, just for good measure to potentially keep water out. (not that carbon absorbs water in any case).

DM

Adrian Ferguson
NSW, 15 posts
26 Nov 2011 4:45AM
Thumbs Up