Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2012 Griffin Argo ?s

Created by jbcarol > 9 months ago, 31 Jan 2012
jbcarol
7 posts
31 Jan 2012 1:03AM
Thumbs Up

I have been riding core GT for 3 years. Great kite I do have a GTS 11m and a riot xr2 10m.
I really like the kites, but the GT was really a perfect fit for my style...all around freeride/freestyle, big jumps, and waves and Mega lowend grunt rarely had to sine in order to create power.

It looks to me that the new Argo is nice low aspect delta with good lowend and fast turning.

I am looking for medium bar pressure with good bar feedback and good turning when depowered. I don't like light bar pressure.

????....Core has always maintained that for stability you really need a center strut. Since I have not flown any other kites as stable and with as much performance as core GT I am curious to know what the Argo is like comared to the GT. I tried the lithium 10 m for 2011 and found it less smooth and punchy compared to the GT. Power was jerky on off when sheeting in and out. It was a short demo, but I know my Gt would not behave like that. I was convinced the main reason for on off power like that was that the most functional part of the canopy for generating lift had no support. The lithium has no center strut like the Argo. I have flown a 6 strut Genetrix origin for a season which has 2 center struts offset from center like the griffin, nice powerful fun kite, but still not as rock solid as core kites...not sure why.

What I see that I like in the Argo is low aspect good lowend, nice pivotal turning, and fast auto relaunch like core. But how is the stability and linear nature of depower and how much boost through the kite loop with such a fast pivatol turn?

I have no place to demo argo in California so hopeful to get feedback comparison to Core if someone is able. I have read everything on this forum which has been helpful. You Aussies write the most helpful reviews IMHO. Great forum for rider feedback.