Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

12'6 or 14 Race Board?

Created by SUPingCaveman > 9 months ago, 23 Jun 2012
SUPingCaveman
NSW, 111 posts
23 Jun 2012 10:50AM
Thumbs Up

Long time reader first time poster.
Now that's out of the way I am relatively new to SUP (6 months, never surfed before) with my current board being a Suplove 11'2 Adventurer. I am a pretty fit guy 6'0 tall between 80-85 kegs. I have a goal of doing some racing and I am tossing around whether to go for a 12'6 or 14 race board. I have paddled a C4 Switchblade 12'6 which was way to tippy and I didn't enjoy, a JP 12'6 x 30 which was nice and a Fanatic 12'6 x 30.5 Fly Race Wood which i loved but my very helpful local expert wants me to try the 14 also. He thinks that I will outgrow the 12'6 to quickly and will need the 14 to stay with other paddlers. This is probably true as I am a naturally competitive person. He stated that the Fanatic 14' x 28 was still stable and just as stable as the 12'6 which is what I am after, as I said still a beginner.
I am posted to Canberra at the end of the year so my local will be Burley Griffen but I also want to be able to take the board out on the ocean/bay in Eden.
I have read lots and lots of posts re these boards on here and on other forums but I am ultimately confused as hell.
HELP PLEASE.

laceys lane
QLD, 19803 posts
23 Jun 2012 6:59PM
Thumbs Up

to me you should go the 14. flatwater paddling = 14'.

some ocean paddling, well i believe dw ing is hard to learn on a 12'6. that 1 and 1/2 makes a big difference in getting the hang of it.

you have to be a very good paddler to make a 12'6 dw well imo

cheers

HumanCartoon
VIC, 2098 posts
23 Jun 2012 7:41PM
Thumbs Up

^ what he said. Go the 14