Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Fanatic Prowave 8'10" or JP surf pro 8'10"

Created by Scottydc > 9 months ago, 19 Nov 2012
Scottydc
NSW, 73 posts
19 Nov 2012 12:54PM
Thumbs Up

I'm looking to get either a Fanatic Prowave 8'10" or JP surf pro 8'10". I weigh 75kg and i am a beginner/intermediate rider. Have been riding the all wave 8'10" for about a year and am looking to step down in volume. I ride mainly around Sydney and need whatever board i choose to be able to handle a bit of chop.

Has anyone ridden both these boards and what's the stability like between them?

How do they compare in average conditions as well as good conditions?

SaltH20
123 posts
19 Nov 2012 3:25PM
Thumbs Up

Not trying to hijack thread but could you add the JP 8'2" x 32" wide body to the comparison.

I am waiting for the 2013 JP models to hit the States(DECEMBER)

As far as the volume between the Fanatic Prowave and the JP Pro it's nominal 119 and 126 respectively.

Thus why I added the 8'2" x 32" wide body it too is close @ 124 liters for additional comparison.

I too would hear from people out there who have ridden them.

Scottydc
NSW, 73 posts
19 Nov 2012 8:18PM
Thumbs Up

The 8'2" is also on my list. I might actually go the 8'2" wide surf for summer (onshores and junk waves) and leave the 8'10 for winter. Has anyone on here ridden the 8'2" wide surf? How did it go?

waverbob
2 posts
22 Nov 2012 6:18PM
Thumbs Up

Hi, I'm Roberto from Sardinia, Italy. I've just received two JP boards, 8'2 wide body and 9'6 surf. Tried the 8'2 two times, the first with 1 m choppy waves and the 2nd with 1,5-2 meters clean glassy waves, I'm totally stoked! The board is ultra light, super easy and turns like crazy. I'm waiting to try it with a new fin set FCS GL-1.
Here are some photos of the board and one gopro shot.
Hope that it helps

firesurf
53 posts
23 Nov 2012 1:57AM
Thumbs Up

Hey waverbob,
Do you know the weight of the 8'2 wide pro?