Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Red Air 10'6 vs Astro Whopper 10' inflatables

Created by KylieJ > 9 months ago, 8 Jan 2013
KylieJ
QLD, 96 posts
8 Jan 2013 6:39PM
Thumbs Up

Hi I'm new to the SUP scene and will be buying an inflatable SUP so travelling to locations will be easier for me.
I would like to know your thought on the Red air 10'6 and the Starboard Astro whopper 10' I will be using the board in Moreton bay which can be choppy and in waves like at mooloolaba not too big. Which board would you recommend?
Thankyou appreciate any help

baldy123
WA, 402 posts
8 Jan 2013 7:49PM
Thumbs Up

Both are good boards. I purchased a whopper last easter 2012, as a board to take away on trips when space is limited. The starboard is well finished and looks good, however the crocodile skin deck pad does seem to wear and get damaged easily. I mainly use it in flat water, and have surfed in waves up to waist high, which is fun, nothing radical.

I have also recently ridden the new 2013 red air 10'6", this is a good value board comes in at $1099 with pump and bag. The red is 1" thicker than the starboard and handles more PSI if you can be bothered to pump it up that hard. It paddles and surfs better than the starboard, being 3" thinner in overall width means paddling is a little easier on the shoulders and for smaller people.

I personally think the new 2013 Red boards are of a higher build quality than the starboards.

Hope this helps.

KylieJ
QLD, 96 posts
9 Jan 2013 5:25PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks for the info yes you did help me I was leaning towards the red air but have decided ifcthectest rude hoes well will definitely be getting one. Cheers

BrisKites
QLD, 1290 posts
9 Jan 2013 9:37PM
Thumbs Up

Not sure if all that info is current.
Last time I checked the Starboards can be pumped pretty hard. 15-20Psi
They are offered either with or without the diamond grip.