Forums > Windsurfing Gear Reviews

2011 KA Kult & Kaos

Created by Gestalt > 9 months ago, 26 Nov 2010
Gestalt
QLD, 14367 posts
26 Nov 2010 7:11PM
Thumbs Up

very stoked today when my new quiver of KA sails arrived!!!!!

rigged up the 6.4 kult and the 5.3 kaos, have a 5.8 kult in the bag still. grabbed some photos.

as luck would have it today is the no wind day after a week of 15-20 knots.

this years kults & Kaos look excellent. they look like amac and the team have again improved on the shape and the new graphics i love. i've been using KA sails for over 10 years now by choice so i'm a fan

can't wait to get them out on the water. the 6.4 is my 12-18 knot sail and the 5.8 for 15-22 knots on my freestyle board. this year i switched from the 5.3m kult to the 5.3m kaos for a more throw about sail in the smaller sizes.

kults look as powerful as previous years which is why i love them so much. changes this year appear to be more static shaping to the panels, more even twist and the coe is lower and more forward. the boom has been shortened slightly also to improve power feed so i'm keen to find some wind. straight out of the bag the 6.4 rigged on my 430 sdm no problems. battens popped without any issues so on the water rotation should be as good as previous years. pumping felt very nice also, even though there is more static shaping the sail still remained springy.

Kaos was rigged on a 400 rdm unifiber. straight out of the bag rigged without effort. the kaos has less draft than the kult being a pure wave sail. compared to previous years (my 2008) it looks to have a touch more static shape and a slightly different twist. seems a little smoother with the layoff. there seems to have been some refine,ents to the coe in the kaos also. the draft looks just a little bit sweeter.

can't wait to get some wind! will finish off the review once i've tested them out for real.

oh, i forgot to mention.