Forums > Kitesurfing General

A close escape and some advice

Created by sapatos > 9 months ago, 1 Feb 2011
sapatos
NSW, 7 posts
1 Feb 2011 6:02PM
Thumbs Up

I'm a newbie at kiting and recently had a pretty scary experience which I'd like some advice for.

So I'm up and going from the shore when the wind literally stops and the kite drops, lines going loose, downwind to me leading edge down and I start getting gently pulled towards the beach at an angle. As there's no wind I'm unable to spin the kite on itself and get it airborne again.

Eventually I realise I'm about to hit the beach where, typically, a bunch of kids are playing. So I figure I release my safety so the kite should depower and drop. However as I do this the wind picks up again and the kite and bar are pulled out of my reach and again I'm dragged beachward the kite twists round itself and I'm saved by a guy on the beach who grabs the kite before I do any damage.

My question is in this type of scenario should I release the safety or keep it attached. Any advice? It's the first time I got worried doing this.

Thanks,

Sapatos

waveslave
WA, 4263 posts
1 Feb 2011 3:31PM
Thumbs Up

Were you getting dragged into the beach by your death-leash ?
Was the kite psycho-looping ?

getfunky
WA, 4485 posts
1 Feb 2011 3:49PM
Thumbs Up

What kind of kite have you got Sapatos?

Most bow kites have an extra flag out connection.

On my kites in the above scenario I can disconnect my (sensible) safety leash from the mini-5th line on the 'Y' of front lines and hook up to one of the outside "Oh sh!t' rear-line loops. The idea is that releasing to one line that pulls a lot further thru (and from one side only) collapses the kite and stops it from unexpectedly powering up. EDIT: sometimes they can still 'death loop' a bit tho. (some kites only release to one front line and they are'nt fun apparently).