Forums > Kitesurfing General

ACT Kiters?

Created by Melooney > 9 months ago, 7 Jun 2009
Melooney
NSW, 11 posts
8 Jun 2009 12:04AM
Thumbs Up

Hey all.

I have looked through the posts, checked out different sites and am of the very disheartened frame of mind that kiting in Canberra is uncommon and at the best of times poor.

Please let me know if i am wrong or if there is a small group who often does weekend coast trips looking to split the petrol costs with another. I am quite new to the sport but have a solid addiction.

Snowboarding is another hobby, so any snow kiters out there interested in sharing some tips or pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Mel

windburn
VIC, 37 posts
9 Jun 2009 9:30AM
Thumbs Up

Hey K2,
I've lived in Canboring for nearly a year now and looking to head down the coast as many weekends as I can. Went down a couple of weekends ago. I get weekends off work so your more than welcome to join me.

GalahOnTheBay
NSW, 4188 posts
9 Jun 2009 10:34AM
Thumbs Up

Most ACTers seem to head to the NSW south coast for their dose of sea based kite action.

I often see them at 7 mile beach (gerroa)

tatkins
QLD, 344 posts
9 Jun 2009 1:56PM
Thumbs Up

I was in Canberra (for 1 day) in May and the winds where blowing a solid 20 knots all day. I was wishing i brought my kite and gave it a go on that lake.

Not knowing anything about that lake, is it too shallow? prohibited? too polluted? or just too cold?

lostinlondon
VIC, 1159 posts
9 Jun 2009 4:43PM
Thumbs Up

When I was in the army I used to sail on the lake. It was bloody cold if you fell in the water. I have seen some photos of people launching and landing from the park area opposite the old Hospital site. I reckon it would be better just to get down to the coast around Batemans Bay.

Melooney
NSW, 11 posts
9 Jun 2009 5:34PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks for all the messages guys. I look forward to catching some of you down south.

Mattress
NSW, 120 posts
9 Jun 2009 5:59PM