Forums > Kitesurfing General

Boat assistance and rescue

Created by savagebee > 9 months ago, 3 Feb 2013
savagebee
NSW, 35 posts
3 Feb 2013 10:49AM
Thumbs Up

Hi, my first post.
I am brand new to kiting, am a good surfer and skiff sailor and have some experience flying 2 string kites. Had one lesson with a mate and was able to get up and going couple times on his twin tip but I want to use my surfboards. 2012 10m BWS noise arrives this week so I am ready to go!

From other posts on this forum I understand that a long downwind is a good way to progress quickly, spend more time practicing kitesurfing and less kite-walking (tho I'm sure that's a necessary skill too). I live on Scotland Island in the Pittwater so am fortunate enough to have my own boat (4.1 m poly) and it occurs that it might be a good plan to head out into broken bay with a wife or mate to drive the boat and rescue me as required.

Any advice on best ways to rig and launch kite from boat, recover into boat etc? My boat is fairly open and accessible but would not be able to have a fully-inflated kite in it, so thinking inflating with some of the kite over the side, let kite float downwind, get in water and launch kite from water?

CowboyWA
WA, 55 posts
3 Feb 2013 8:47AM
Thumbs Up

Look on you tube, I have seen a couple of vids of boat launches..

Not sure I would personally take that option though.

Mini Mal
WA, 298 posts
3 Feb 2013 10:21AM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
so thinking inflating with some of the kite over the side, let kite float downwind, get in water and launch kite from water?

Why get in the water? Stand on the deck and waterlaunch the kite and when alls good then step onto your board and go.

gremlin12
NSW, 41 posts
3 Feb 2013 10:33PM
Thumbs Up

savagebee
Welcome to your new addiction.
Since it is still early days for you wouldn't it be better to keep it simple.
Leave the boat, wife out of the way till things are better co-ordinated.