Forums > Kitesurfing General

Going really big and kite control ??

Created by Lambie > 9 months ago, 17 Feb 2013
Lambie
QLD, 739 posts
17 Feb 2013 9:17PM
Thumbs Up

Lately I have been haveing a crack at boosting big time - flying a 10 m Bandit 3 in around 20 knots yesterday and in the surf so had some awesome ramps.

I've been kiteing for a bit over 3 years and am currently riding a 5'8" Kipuna .

Some of the jumps were - um very big !! ie seems that at the top of the jump I was looking srtaight at the bridle of the kite nearest me - lots of altitude for me and some hang time !!

My question is - apart from looping the kite ( Ok I'm 51 so not a young buck!) what is the best plan to make every landing a survivable one ??

Yesterday I landed hard on my left ribs and dont want to do that again - jumped left hand forward and got big height off the wave lip - and hit the apex of the jump and generlly I pull on the front hand to redirect to kite forward and land down wind.. still didnt work out to plan me thinks !!

So I guess I'm trying to find out what I should have done differently in the air to land the jump ? Once you go big there is alot of time to think about the kite -but my mind is always well WTF - now what next!!!!!

I'd love to hear how you guys that jump high fly the kite to make the landings - well just happen!!

Cheers Lambie

dave......
WA, 2119 posts
17 Feb 2013 7:43PM
Thumbs Up

On big jumps the smoothest landings I find are actually done with a downloop before you land. At 51 you just need to give them a go timing is not that difficult. For learning to boost big, keep the wave out of the equation as it can send you into some strange angles.

Sounds like you pulled to early with the extra height and came down too hot

mattyjee
WA, 575 posts
17 Feb 2013 8:35PM
Thumbs Up

You dont necessarily need to loop, but you do need to turn the kite down hard before you land.
Most beginners land jumps and zoom under the kite and it goes slack and crashes.