Forums > Kitesurfing General

Hawaii kite surfing

Created by Buzz Kites (Lee) > 9 months ago, 15 Dec 2014
Buzz Kites (Lee)
NSW, 110 posts
15 Dec 2014 10:27AM
Thumbs Up

I'm heading off to Hawaii for the first time during the Christmas break. I'm staying in Waikiki so the girls can do some shopping while I go kiting. I'll have a rental car. I'd love to hear from anyone who has kited there especially any tips or advice about where the best places to kite are and any fun things to do/see while we are there. I've got four years experience as a kiter, but mainly in the flat water on a twin tip so not looking for big wave kiting. Thanks friends!

kemp90
QLD, 1694 posts
15 Dec 2014 10:03AM
Thumbs Up

Depending on what direction the wind is blowing. The eastern shore has some awsome lagoons. On the north sore there is a spot called mokes next to the airfield that is pritty awsome.

CapNRonK
VIC, 19 posts
15 Dec 2014 1:56PM
Thumbs Up

The Pipeline Masters (surfing) is on right now on the north shore... for kiting, Mokes will most likely be big waves with a rip+shallow reef this time of year.

For twintip action Kailua is where you want to go. There are some restrictions on where to launch on Kailua beach. Hit up the Naish Shop or Hawaiian Watersports in Kailua for advice.

JonesySail
QLD, 1083 posts
18 Dec 2014 12:43AM
Thumbs Up

Just got back from Maui and Ohau, as mentioned above Kailua is where you want to be on Oahu, flat water and reef break's further out, awesome paradise spot, bit of a drive.. 'heaps' windier on Maui though!

Buzz Kites (Lee)
NSW, 110 posts
18 Dec 2014 5:18PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks everyone - sounds amazing - can't wait!!

Buzz Kites (Lee)
NSW, 110 posts
5 Jan 2015 9:07AM
Thumbs Up

I just got back from my trip and only got in a bit of kiting due to lack of wind. For anyone following me over there, here's some more details on the information given above.