KSS Altona Kite Lessons?

Created by manicskier > 9 months ago, 11 Nov 2012
This topic has been locked
manicskier
VIC, 772 posts
11 Nov 2012 4:16PM
Thumbs Up

So a hypothetical here.

Im a newbie and i live in altona. I wander down to KSS my local kite shop and ask for some lessons. Where are my lessons going to be held? Altona beach? Am I insured whilst undertaking the lessons? (or do i need my own insurance?) Is a permit or such required to conduct a lesson in a public place?

Im just curious, as a frequent kiter at Altona i have witnessed or heard about from friends many instances of injuries - ambulances, kites over lines - power outs, flouting of the keeping clear of the pier rule etc etc etc, this the usual, and yes its concerning, but now a kite school is going to dip in as well?
Now not saying that this (StKilda in the West) is going to make it worse, maybe we will have a bunch of well informed locals who are interested in playing by the rules to keep access.
But realistically, when the season is on, the lessons will be pumped out in any conditions and the required attention to details will slide. More incidents will be caused either directly - during in lessons or indirectly - after lessons when all the fresh learners come to the beach they know. Disputing this futile, its fact, heaps of new learners into an already crowded area with a known sketchy launch, its going to happen.
A little bird told me there might be 9 instructors ready to go.... (9 x 6 days per week x 4 lessons per day = 216 lessons per week, say 4 lessons per newbie, thats 50 newies per week - must be totally wrong seems like way to many, but i have been wrong before ;-)

Any comments?

winter
VIC, 155 posts
11 Nov 2012 5:11PM
Thumbs Up

I think someone is yanking you're chain!

laurie
WA, 3848 posts
12 Nov 2012 10:52AM
Thumbs Up

manicskier said...

So a hypothetical here.