Forums > Kitesurfing General

Kite Exercise and Injury question

Created by PerfectlyFit > 9 months ago, 11 Nov 2010
PerfectlyFit
12 posts
11 Nov 2010 9:03PM
Thumbs Up

I've recently polled on kiteforum, but since I'm friends with so many kiters from Australia on facebook I wanted to get your opinion. I'm a fitness expert, and am putting together a series of workout exercises, injury prevention and recovery for kiters. I was going to do the basics: overall conditioning, elbows, knees and such. What other areas would you like to see addressed?

Here is an example of a video of core exercises to address back pain:
catchsomeair.us/?option=com_content&view=article&catid=132:training-exercises-a-workouts&id=241:how-to-prevent-kiteboarding-back-pain&Itemid=67

and one on How to Duct Tape an Ankle
catchsomeair.us/?option=com_content&view=article&catid=132:training-exercises-a-workouts&id=369:how-to-heal-an-ankle-injury&Itemid=67

So, let me know what you would like info on and I will start working on it! Thanks again for time and opinion.

pedro
WA, 44 posts
12 Nov 2010 11:06AM
Thumbs Up

Well I reckon the number one kiter complaint would be tennis elbow so that would be an obvious place to start. Although there's already been quite a bit written about it, conversation has tended to focus on treatment rather than prevention.

Next in line for me would be conditioning for core, followed but something for shoulders, particular folks who are unhooking a lot. I know other guys have kneed issues but that hasn't caught up with me just yet

kiter zac
QLD, 295 posts
12 Nov 2010 1:37PM
Thumbs Up

ankles, knees and shoulders.

tatkins
QLD, 344 posts
12 Nov 2010 1:57PM
Thumbs Up

More uses for gaffer tape.

KIT33R
NSW, 1714 posts
12 Nov 2010 3:10PM
Thumbs Up

Fit ball exercises for core strength would be good.

Lethal Dons
SA, 19 posts
12 Nov 2010 7:30PM
Thumbs Up