Forums > Kitesurfing General

My first kiteboarding kite

Created by MikeDobbs > 9 months ago, 28 Jul 2011
MikeDobbs
6 posts
28 Jul 2011 12:36PM
Thumbs Up

I am brand new to kiteboarding and considering purchasing a 2011 Argo. Does anyone have any experience with this kite? Would it be a good choice for a new rider?

I was just about sold on the Argo when a local kite shop decided to blow out his inventory of 2011 Best Taboo's. I can get a Taboo complete with bar for right around the same price as the Argo. Taboo seems like a more aggressive kite, but at this price it might be worth it once I get past the initial learning curve?

Any help would be appreciated.

bennie
ACT, 1258 posts
28 Jul 2011 3:31PM
Thumbs Up

g'day Mike,

I own an argo and think it is a really good kite. I wish that I could have learned on a kite as good. My learning curve would have been much quicker. They are very stable, fly upwind, relaunch super easy, and have plently of depower on tap, plus they are very well constructed (they can take a good flogging) these are all attributes to look for in your first kite. They have more than enough performance to grow into. They excel in the waves which is why I have one, but are also great freeride kites. Probably the only weakness is they aren't the best kites for unhooked tricks.

I can't comment on the taboo, but you can't go wrong with the argo

radman4
678 posts
28 Jul 2011 1:32PM
Thumbs Up

Argo is a real user friendly kite,better bottom end for a lerner,stable as and built tough,i use them in my kiteschool and they get abused, great kite.
As a lerner you want good bottom end and stability,argo fits the bill.

speed brother
QLD, 126 posts
28 Jul 2011 11:41PM
Thumbs Up

Get yourself a Cabrinha switchblade. I don't ride them but they are very easy and safe to ride. Just like a Volvo stationwagon.

MikeDobbs
6 posts
29 Jul 2011 7:25AM
Thumbs Up

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

So it looks like I'm down to a 3 kite race:

2011 Best Kahoona