Forums > Kitesurfing General

My kite needs tuning..?

Created by fr0st > 9 months ago, 28 Nov 2008
fr0st
WA, 16 posts
28 Nov 2008 11:14PM
Thumbs Up

Evening all,

I've been having my typical newbie lessons and its been going great, but with my kite I suck something hardcore. Before my second lesson I tried going out a few times but couldn't get out of the water to save myself. On my second lesson I was on a 7m in 23-24 knot winds, first water start and I was up an riding... suprised the hell out of me . Ended up having an awesome session and was stoked I got up and riding a few times in a row.

I went out a few days later with my kite and nothing! First water start I dived the kite, had no power to get up and crashed it. I couldn't get the kite to relaunch so I got dragged into the shore and got my lines tangled in weed. It's happend twice since and I'm not progressing at all now.

I know I'm a newbie and all... but the problem seems to be with the kite.
The kite is a 9m 2008 Monkey Kites Griffin, still using standard (old) lines. When walking up the beach with the kite in 10 oclock it seems to fall back into the windows, power up and goto the edge again. Also when balancing the kite at 10, with the instructors kite I could just park it there and adjust the depower to keep it there. With my kite I have to power it right up and even then it feels like it wants to drop into the water unless I steer it upwards to compensate.