Forums > Kitesurfing General

Please Help Me!!!

Created by NewToThisSport7 > 9 months ago, 4 Jan 2015
NewToThisSport7
VIC, 6 posts
4 Jan 2015 4:48PM
Thumbs Up

Hi,
I am new to kitesurfing and looking for the best beginner equipment to suit my build. I am 14 year old boy I am approximately 162cm tall and weigh about 45kg. I would be kitesurfing on a large lake with winds between 10-50 knots. After taking lessons and watching an excessive amount of YouTube videos I have developed a strong interest in this sport and I am now looking to purchase my own kitesurfing equipment! I would strongly appreciate if you could make some recommendations for a kite & etc. to suit me and my area.

Cheers!

LittleFella
WA, 132 posts
4 Jan 2015 3:52PM
Thumbs Up

Nice wind range.

Brohan
VIC, 528 posts
4 Jan 2015 7:14PM
Thumbs Up

10 and 50 knots is a big wind range, are you able to narrow it down? What's the average wind you get?

NewToThisSport7
VIC, 6 posts
4 Jan 2015 7:38PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Brohan said..
10 and 50 knots is a big wind range, are you able to narrow it down? What's the average wind you get?

I'm not quite sure but I would say I would probably kitesurf in wind between 20-30 knots usualy.

Paul1
QLD, 1011 posts
4 Jan 2015 7:31PM
Thumbs Up

www.seabreeze.com.au/forums/Kitesurfing/Newbies-Tips-Tricks/

stormgod
QLD, 137 posts
4 Jan 2015 8:39PM
Thumbs Up

Try Kurtis on the gold Coast. he is awesome and will have all the answers you need. Very confident and competent instructor. .

Dave Whettingsteel
WA, 1397 posts
4 Jan 2015 6:48PM
Thumbs Up

Good on you for developing an interest in kitesurfing in your teens, I reckon you will have a load of fun and meet heaps of interesting people. Be aware that the forums don't always produce the most positive of responses... Let the beach determine how much you enjoy the sport.