Forums > Kitesurfing General

Slingshot Octane 7m - opinions?

Created by hebbo > 9 months ago, 4 Apr 2016
hebbo
VIC, 18 posts
4 Apr 2016 9:36AM
Thumbs Up

Hi there.

I am looking for a winter kite for the stronger wind and came a across a Slinghost Octane 7m for an affordable price :)

Couldn't find much information online. Seems like is a not a very common one. Has anyone has any experience with it?
I am a beginner learning to jump, go toe-side and so on.

Thanks

Brohan
VIC, 528 posts
4 Apr 2016 11:58AM
Thumbs Up

What year is the kite? I would steer clear of anything that's 2009/2010.

m00chy
WA, 77 posts
4 Apr 2016 10:06AM
Thumbs Up

What year is it? The Octane name was used on a c shaped kite and then the Octane was the hybrid shape kite about 2010 after slingshot stopped calling it the Rev.

Anyways if its the hybrid then its a really good kite. The Rev and Octane were great kites apart from one fault, they had pulleys in the bridle which used to put twists in the bridle and thus shorten it and make it fly like a dog. But you just have to get new ones made and all good.

They removed the pulleys fromn the bridle after the octane. The older octane (C shaped) is a no-no for a beginner in comparison to the hybrid.

hebbo
VIC, 18 posts
4 Apr 2016 12:16PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks for the info guys.

I can't remember now, but I would say the kite is from 2012. It may be the hybrid one. Will have a look to the bridles and check the setup. Wouldn't want the kite to "fly like a dog" on a 30knots wind :)

Drury
NSW, 502 posts
4 Apr 2016 12:34PM
Thumbs Up

Neither the bridled or C version were very good kites imo. I've flown both of them. I'd look for something newer than 2012. You can usually get small sizes pretty cheap.

jamesperth
WA, 610 posts
4 Apr 2016 11:03AM
Thumbs Up

The little Ozone Edges are meant to be amazing - Eddy Lansink from Versus Kiteboarding the Netherlands has some great videos of him riding the 7m Edge in some crazy 40 knot storm and going huge....