Forums > Kitesurfing General

Snapped bar tip - 2014 Ozone contact push away bar

Created by tarrm > 9 months ago, 27 Jan 2014
tarrm
5 posts
27 Jan 2014 5:07PM
Thumbs Up

Had an awesome session on Saturday on my 10m Catalyst until this happened.

Left hand plastic tip snapped off. It shot up the kite lines and cut right through the safety line. The kite fell to the water in the waves.

When I hit the quick release the kite completely disconnected from me. Luckily there were other kiters who could help rescue the kite.

I had a session on thursday by myself so I'm very glad this didn't happen then.

This is the bar I am talking about. I have been using it since October 2013. 3-4 sessions per month.

ozonekites.com/products/water-kites

I have contacted the shop I purchased it from and they said they will contact Ozone about it.

matix
34 posts
27 Jan 2014 6:18PM
Thumbs Up

wow thats really suprising!

ozone will probaly give you a new bar and lines. they have awesome warrenty service.

tarrm
5 posts
27 Jan 2014 6:23PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
matix said..

wow thats really suprising!

ozone will probaly give you a new bar and lines. they have awesome warrenty service.

yeah I hope so. Fingers crossed it's just a one off weakness with the left moulded plastic tip.

dusta
WA, 2940 posts
27 Jan 2014 6:34PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
matix said..
they have awesome warrenty service.

they don't. i had wear on a bar that was 3 months old and was told it was incorrect use of the bar ?

Awesome kites, but sh!t backup service . this was a race bar last year .

Plummet
4862 posts
27 Jan 2014 6:55PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
dusta said..
was told it was incorrect use of the bar ?

what were you using the bar for? bedroom gymnastics?

27 Jan 2014 10:37PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
dusta said..

matix said..

they don't. i had wear on a bar that was 3 months old and was told it was incorrect use of the bar ?