Forums > Kitesurfing General

Technique - Downwinders on a twintip

Created by oceanfire > 9 months ago, 26 Mar 2013
oceanfire
WA, 718 posts
26 Mar 2013 3:59PM
Thumbs Up

So I did the WAKSA Redkite Downwinder, and discovered how different it is going downwind is than it is going upwind.

It was a great event, but I really wasn't expecting it to be so hard finding a balance between keeping the kite flying with enough tension on the lines and maintain a good angle downwind.

I've heard people say before how it's harder to go downwind than upwind, so I thought it might be good to have a thread for advice on good riding technique on doing a downwinder on a TT.

Since I started learning my first objective was to be able to ride upwind, now I find it much easier to ride upwind. and have been able to well for some time now.
But I've not put any work into riding downwind.

How do you do it?

On the downwinder I tried edging, but ended up going upwind, or keeping position, not going downwind.
I tried riding more towards the kite but lost tension in the lines, so I tried 'surfing' the board a bit more, trying to do half s-bends.
That was a bit more successful, but I couldn't get the speed to match the rest of the field, some guys were motoring downwind and I need to know how to do that!

I'm after all of your collective wisdom so I know what to practice, please advise...

Wanga F One
QLD, 231 posts
26 Mar 2013 6:03PM
Thumbs Up

Toeside.

oceanfire
WA, 718 posts
26 Mar 2013 4:09PM
Thumbs Up

Wanga F One said...
Toeside.

You mean like doing full s-bends, heelside to toeside all the way?

dave......
WA, 2119 posts
26 Mar 2013 4:13PM
Thumbs Up

If you want to go downwind on a TT, boost 5 times each tack on a nice fast broad reach. TT's arent really designed to ride directly downwind. Problem solved and much more fun.

nvs180
QLD, 66 posts
26 Mar 2013 6:16PM
Thumbs Up

oceanfire said...
Wanga F One said...
Toeside.