I am more confused after seeing this!
Looks like something from the 'Wacky Races'
I am guessing I should have the racing rules open as I look at this.
I might print it out, laminate and have a rules quiz with the crew while sailing around the cans......
I think I used every one of those rules last Sunday on Pittwater, nearly run down by a fleet of 50 footers, then the junior fleets, then out of control Benes with spinnaker problems, then a huge mega buck cruiser who wouldn't change course though we had right of way + ferries, jet skies and power boats and two sea planes thrown in for good luck, my brain was hurting, I think I'll stick to sailing weekdays!
Hang on, the proper course illustration in the lower center of the chart has the red boat overtaking to windward from behind and then calling for green to sail a proper course when it's luffed (the only logical way of getting from point 1 to point 2 is for red to do a sudden luff across green's stern and come out to windward).
My recollection (being too lazy to go and get the book and expecting to be screamed down instead) is that green's only obligation is to give room as it luffs. Proper course applies when a boat establishes an overlap to leeward from behind (doesn't it).
I suspect that they have put the wrong colours at position 1. My reading of rule 17 is that a boat creating an overlap to leeward from clear astern cannot go higher than proper course (in this case the boat end of the line), windward boat cannot come down and 18.2b will apply to give room at the mark. If the boat clear astern overtakes to windward, the moon is a logical place to end up.
You are right SB, do it in black and white and it all becomes much clearer/more fun.
I am pretty sure that the guy who drew this also did a web based rules game back in the early 2000's.
Agree with the rule interpretation of both EC31 and Trant.
I suppose an accidental colour change is a likely explanation.
Mind you, green is already infringing that rule at 2, let alone point 3. I suspect someone has revamped an old chart. Point 3 looks suspiciously like the old 'mast abeam' position.
I did a dinghy regatta at Lake Barely Worthit recently and came around the bottom mark in a Tasar and a Sharpie followed around on our tail. We really wanted to tack but he was right on our hip. After a few more minutes he got level with us and loudly called Mast Abeam. Everyone fell about laughing. He sheepishly asked if that rule did not apply any more......
The colours change according to which boat has row. The clear astern leeward boat has to keep clear, therefore coloured red. Once overlapped to leeward the Windward boat has to keep clear therefore colours switch. Leeward has to give time and opportunity for Windward to keep clear and cannot sail above proper course.
The above situation is tricky in laser sailing when running deep by the lee because the rules "Windward " boat is actually the physical leeward boat. When the rules " leeward" boat transitions to a reach the Windward boat has to be given time and opportunity but must keep clear bearing in mind that proper course is a broad reach often much higher than a direct course to the mark.