2014 Starboard Whopper

Created by Stutho > 9 months ago, 18 Mar 2014
Stutho
14 posts
18 Mar 2014 7:03PM
Thumbs Up

G'day all,

Newbie here!

I have read a lot of people suggesting boards to new SUP riders, but none seam to mention the Whopper.

I am a new rider, 90kg, flat water/small wave interest, hopefully putting my young son on the board too.

Is there others out there doing the same on a Whopper??

Thanks!!!!!

DavidJohn
VIC, 17461 posts
18 Mar 2014 10:19PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Stutho said...
[br]G'day all,

Newbie here!

I have read a lot of people suggesting boards to new SUP riders, but none seam to mention the Whopper.

I am a new rider, 90kg, flat water/small wave interest, hopefully putting my young son on the board too.

Thanks!!!!!

How young?

esg
4 posts
18 Mar 2014 7:23PM
Thumbs Up

Here's a pic of my son and I on one. I'm 200# and my son's 35#. They're fun and stable boards in the waves with lots of rocker. OK for cruising around in flat water, but slow.

JacobMatan
WA, 431 posts
18 Mar 2014 10:41PM
Thumbs Up

I am 100 kg's and I surfed a whopper for about 6 months (outgrew it after a while). I love the board it is so much fun to surf on, extremely easy and stable, turns really well for a board that size and is good for a few nose rides too!! The best thing about this board is the way it picks up waves it really gets up and starts planing super early and lets you get into waves you didn't think you were going to catch. I would definitely recommend this as a first surf sup for any bigger guy. It will do general flat water paddling duties but is not ideal for it. its a bit too wide and too much rocker

Stutho
14 posts
19 Mar 2014 7:47AM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
DavidJohn said..

Stutho said...

G'day all,

Newbie here!

Thanks!!!!!

How young?