Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Naish Alana 10"6 or ECS EVO 10"6 for Beginner

Created by lisamarie > 9 months ago, 25 Oct 2015
lisamarie
NSW, 6 posts
25 Oct 2015 5:51PM
Thumbs Up

Hi Guys!

I am very new to paddle boarding but absolutely love it and want to buy myself a board! I am looking at these two boards above but cannot decide which one to choose. (Open to suggestions of other boards also :)

I am looking for an all rounder as I will mostly be using it on flat water but may jump on a few baby waves once I gain a bit more confidence with it all. I am 165cm tall and weight 80kg. Needing something pretty stable to learn on as I have terrible balance! lol

Your recommendations are much appreciated :)

Lisa :)

DavidJohn
VIC, 17460 posts
25 Oct 2015 7:17PM
Thumbs Up

I don't know the other board very well but I know the Alana 10'6" Nalu very well and it's an awesome board.. You should try and demo both because there's much more to a board than its overall dimensions and price.. The handle and deck pad are often overlooked and very important.. Let us know what you think after demo'ing and/or buying.

lisamarie
NSW, 6 posts
25 Oct 2015 10:21PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks so much David! I will take your advice and give them a go! I demoed the Neish Nalu 10'6 today and it was a great board....although it was my first try on a board ever so I was pretty shakey! haha

Tardy
5024 posts
26 Oct 2015 5:47AM
Thumbs Up

The Nalu's are great boards .the 11' won't be as shaky due to the extra 1'width ..31 instead of 30 ..but doesn't have the flowers or mermaids .
you will get better ,the more time you spend on the water .It is a good choice .
the Alana paddle also is a good combo.
Tardy.

mickeyb
NSW, 60 posts
26 Oct 2015 4:50PM
Thumbs Up