Forums > Surfing Shortboards

First board for someone 110kg+

Created by michael15286 > 9 months ago, 17 Nov 2019
michael15286
WA, 2 posts
17 Nov 2019 1:28PM
Thumbs Up

I'm sure you guys are sick of beginner surf board threads, but I've looked around a lot and found little to help me. AS a 6"4 guy over 110kg, there's not too much info out there on surf boards my size. I saw this thread www.seabreeze.com.au/forums/Surfing/Shortboards/100kg-short-board-surfers-what-do-you-ride, which is how I found this forum, but I'm looking for more recent suggestions. Thanks!

Coohan
84 posts
17 Nov 2019 6:26PM
Thumbs Up

If you're a complete beginner, get yourself an 8ft or bigger soft top. The bigger (longer, wider, thicker) the better. You'll catch more waves and learn how to pop up better. If you stick with it, it'll make a fun small wave board. good luck and have fun

michael15286
WA, 2 posts
17 Nov 2019 9:34PM
Thumbs Up

Thanks Coohan, I'll look for an 8ft+ board then. Any reason why a soft top over a hard top?

Buster fin
WA, 2576 posts
18 Nov 2019 4:50AM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
michael15286 said..
Thanks Coohan, I'll look for an 8ft+ board then. Any reason why a soft top over a hard top?

Safer for you and anyone nearby.

Coohan
84 posts
18 Nov 2019 6:21PM
Thumbs Up

You are going to bash the board around a lot as a beginner - a fibreglass board will ding, so either you'll have to pay for it to be fixed or learn how to do it to yourself before you can surf it again. A soft board doesn't need the same kind of care. And it's safer for you and everyone else until you develop an understanding of surfer etiquette

IFocus
WA, 582 posts
19 Nov 2019 6:20AM
Thumbs Up

Good advice from the boys at 110 kg's you will need a lot of float a mate I surf with is around that fridge size and his short board is 7ft all be it lower volume.