Forums > Windsurfing Gear Reviews

Fanatic Grip 82L 2018

Created by akesy > 9 months ago, 5 Sep 2017
akesy
VIC, 53 posts
5 Sep 2017 12:03PM
Thumbs Up

Hi,

Got hold of my new Fanatic Grip 82L 2018 a couple of weeks ago and had a go at it yesterday for the first time; i thought i'd share my thoughts in this forum.

First, a bit of background, i am 78kg and was riding with a Fanatic Stubby 88L 2016 for 18 months as a one quiver board previous to that. I also got to experience the Quattro Cube 2017 lately, so i'll be comparing the Grip to the stubby and cube mainly. I ride waves from 2 to 5 foot in side / side offshore conditions, with the occasional bay session every now and then, so a fair bit of everything. I have been windsurfing for 15 years and would consider myself as "advanced" in wave riding.

Yesterday's conditions were firing - I was in 3.7 well powered with waves ranging from 3 to 6 foot in side offshore conditions. Main peak was closing out quickly so not enabling many bottom turns but enough to really appreciate the wave riding potential of the grip.

Enough with introductions, let's get into it:

First feeling on the board when i step on it is it's stable. The board actually is fairly large around the mast foot at 58cm which provides stability and comfort. It was definitely reassuring in lulls and when going through white water not planning. Comparing to the Stubby at 57.5cm for example, i found the grip more stable and easy to step on when the stubby felt more technical.