Forums > Wing Foiling General

Help! Armstrong HS1080 or APF1675

Created by LorenzoCA 28 days ago, 11 Jul 2024
LorenzoCA
6 posts
11 Jul 2024 4:52AM
Thumbs Up

Heya!

Need help and input on choosing. I've read lots of forum posts but still need input.

Me: 70kg, beginner winger and wanting to pump foil and DW with wing and SUP in future. Someday jump off my surfboards and try prone foiling.

Situation: I ordered an APF1675 and 220 stab. Figured this would be a good combo to address all the above. BUT...dealer (nice guy) accidentally sent me a new HA1080.

Question 1: Was my initial order of the APF1675 and 220 good to target my "Me" desires above?
Question 2: Is the accidental delivery of the HA1080 better to target my "Me" desires above?
Question 3: Is there a better front foil to target my "Me" desires above?

Thanks interweb friends:)

Gone to dark side
NSW, 389 posts
11 Jul 2024 7:36AM
Thumbs Up

HI I am not an expert but you may whon,t to start with one foil jouny first. What gear have you got at the moment. At 70 kg the foils may be large .

LorenzoCA
6 posts
11 Jul 2024 5:42AM
Thumbs Up

I'm on a 1550V2 now. I've been winging and wake foiling it for a while now.

LorenzoCA
6 posts
11 Jul 2024 10:16AM
Thumbs Up

By the way...I KNOW that no one wing will be ideal for pump foiling, learning SUP downwind pop ups and riding, and potentially even some surf foiling. I'm just trying to find the best compromise.

ArthurAlston
NSW, 189 posts
11 Jul 2024 1:55PM
Thumbs Up

You may find that the Facebook Armstrong group is a better place for a question and discussion like the one you have. There are tons of devoted Armie users on there with a lot of experience.

For pure pumping at your weight, I'd say one of the smaller AFPs would be more suitable. Their website confirms that. So it sounds like you need to have another discussion with your dealer. Also at your weight, there are more suitable foils for DW. My opinion, your question 1, the answer is no. Q2: maybe. Q3: yes.