fver
WA, 453 posts
21 Mar 2009 12:35PM
Thumbs Up

Hi, my name is Fred
I am 75-80kg and 1.84m.
Perth

Here's a little story...

I have been kitesurfing for 5 years, have been pretty fanatic about it. I rarely surf and so do not have any specific surfing skill other than a board skill from kitesurfing. I can stand on a long surfing board but have marginal control in the wave.

I broke my neck while surfing (bad karma on me! I should have not critisised surfing above! ) 6 weeks ago. Thus, I reconsidered the sports that I can do. At this stage, I can walk (yeah! ), go to the gym (I don't coz I prefer outdoor activities) and paddle on flat water. Any impact sport, such as running, is still a no-go zone at the moment.

Fortunately, I discovered SUP 2 months ago through my surfing fanatic g/f who bought a 11 foot Starboard (2 year old I think) . I really enjoyed it from the first time. I had a long love story with kayacking (both whitewater and ocean) and SUPing reminded me the ocean side of kayacking but funnier because of the balance and the full body work-out.

I have now decided that SUPing will be my next main sport .

My experience with SUP is limited to 5 trials, possibly 4 to 5 hours in total. I can stand and handle the ocean with limited swell and sea (<0.5 to 1 m). I am likely to mainly SUP on the ocean with some downwinders. I enjoy challenging my balance on the SUP so I will be after some swell more than glassy water. However, I will regularly enjoy a quiet -night?- cruise on the river and probably try to catch small waves at a latter stage.

I have been extensively reading the Seabreeze SUP forum (and others). I have been looking at various boards. The 11' (I do not know its width and thickness) that I have been using so far, feels a bit big even on the ocean with a bit of swell. I am tempted by a star board 10'5'' x 30'' Drive or similar. The 10'x34 Whopper looks interesting too! I also looked at the 11'2x30' Blend... Can you feel some hesitation???