Forums > Kitesurfing General

Airbrushing kiteboards

Created by Nerk > 9 months ago, 24 Jul 2009
Nerk
NSW, 108 posts
24 Jul 2009 9:07PM
Thumbs Up

I know there's a few board builders/repairers out there. Thought someone might be interested...

I've been making my own boards for a few years, but made the ugliest ones for a 300km radius (at least) using expoxy with tints. I got tired of this, and bought a $50 airbrush, expecting to make ugly airbrushed boards.

It turned out easier to do an ok paint job than I thought. The pictures below are of a surfboard I bought a few years ago for $110, previously repaired and covered up with a bad paint job, then dinged and had fin ripped out by me.

Now patched up, $30 worth of airbrush paint done in the back yard, topped with automotive clear coat from a repco spray can. (Two pack epoxy is better but a bit tricky and toxic). In the photo you can see all the remaining dints, but in the real world the pattern camouflages that pretty well.

If anyone's interested in details, I could send more info.

Before...

After...

Oh, it does actually work as well...

max_ob
QLD, 187 posts
25 Jul 2009 9:10AM
Thumbs Up

i am impressed . . . surely not first time airbrushing . . .

please send me info

milko
NSW, 604 posts
25 Jul 2009 11:18AM
Thumbs Up

when was that video made.. I live at that golden spot. and have seen you out there a few times over winter. but that has got to be a nor easter. will come and say gday next time i see you out..I ride the black + white T3

Damo
WA, 641 posts
25 Jul 2009 9:44AM
Thumbs Up

holy **** man that looks sick.....you MUST have done that before
i would love some more info on how to do that. also where did you get the $50 airbrush from???

Kalavas
WA, 146 posts
25 Jul 2009 12:34PM
Thumbs Up

That board is as sexy as ****.

Well done.

Nerk
NSW, 108 posts
25 Jul 2009 7:12PM
Thumbs Up

Some more details....