cult vs crossbow (wind range)

Created by sustan > 9 months ago, 10 Jan 2010
sustan
47 posts
10 Jan 2010 6:29PM
Thumbs Up

sup guys

im 85kg
kite on dams mainly,lagoons every now and then (mostly gustyish winds)
wind 14-22knts avg about 18knts
beginner (am just able to go up and down)
kite on a twintip

im looking to get a new kite. As im just a student im looking at the 09 models

i can only afford one kite so i want a kite that can offer the widest wind range...
Most of the guys here use the 09 11m crossbow, apparently it has the widest wind range?
i really like the look of the 09 12m cult and have seen plenty good reviews on them but noone here flies them.

Has anyone tried both these kites?
what do you guys think?
any other kites you guys have in mind?

hydra
SA, 254 posts
10 Jan 2010 9:31PM
Thumbs Up

12 meter hydra. best wind range available for its size, no pullys.

with a 80 kg rider, wind range from 13 to 34 knots. we use these kites for speed kiting because of the size you can put up under extreem conditions.
check it out.

james

light wind, (around 10 knots, with 14m hydra. rider weight around 75 kg, board size 132x39)

strong wind. close to 50 knots, hydra 9m. sebastian has had his 9m hydra out in 60 knots. (crazy though).

http://www.genetrixkitesurf.com/gntrx/hydraprfrmnce.html

sustan
47 posts
11 Jan 2010 1:14AM
Thumbs Up

wow thats serious range!

Im from South Africa though and i dont think iv ever seen one here...

Genetrix
SA, 236 posts
17 Jan 2010 9:36AM
Thumbs Up

sustan said...

wow thats serious range!

Im from South Africa though and i dont think iv ever seen one here...

Hi Sustan,
The hydra windrange is massive , most of the speed crew in south africa use them, Basil Cambanis, Hennie Brendenkamp, Taro niehaus, catman he is french but living in South Africa.

Subculture
443 posts
17 Jan 2010 1:52PM
Thumbs Up

Hydra, (James)