Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2010 Griffin Argo – wave riding made easy

Created by warwickl > 9 months ago, 30 Dec 2009
warwickl
NSW, 2206 posts
30 Dec 2009 7:57PM
Thumbs Up

Declaration

I have been using Griffin Kites now for just over 6 months and happily recommend these kites to anyone.

One skill I have always struggled with and want to do is down the line wave riding.

The kites I have had in the past just did not do it for me. However this improved to some degree with my 10.5 2010 Griffin kite but my ability still did not make this easy in medium to light winds ie less than 20 kn.

I also have a 2010 7m Griffin which is excellent in the waves as is a very fast kite - I use it mostly in 25 to 40kn however can be used in 20 kn or a little less.

10m Argo from Griffin and 7 hours later I am now kiting down the line at a very acceptable standard and having fun.

My first session was side/onshore NE for 2 hrs and the last session was in a side shore southerly 15 to a bit under 20 knots for 5 hrs – it was so good I did not want to stop.

10 m Argo Pros:

• It turns/pivots at the kite tip instantly and fast making it seem like a 7m ( I know this as I have a 7m)
• Launch, relaunch is the easiest kite I have ever used ( I have had many different kites and brands over 6 or so years)
• Float and park excellent
• Wave riding including down the line – excellent, if I can do it anyone can. Argo has all the characteristics a wave kite needs IMO.
• At this point I would say bottom end is as good as anything it seems better than a normal 10m
• Stability is excellent better than any other kite I have had

Other comments:

• Landing seems about the same as other kites – I had no problems landing the kite in 15 to 20 kn
• Quality is as good as any – back up service is excellent
• Jump/boost for me as good as the standard Griffin and other kites I have had which is all good ( pervious kites I bought for the boost performance)