Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2014 North Nugget Love

Created by Dan Anderson > 9 months ago, 22 Oct 2013
Dan Anderson
WA, 93 posts
22 Oct 2013 10:06AM
Thumbs Up

First up- I'm 78kgs, 175cms was riding the north nugget 5'2L 21W and I have 12 years experience in waves, freestyle and all things kite.

Recently I had a session on a mates north Nugget 5'2 2014 and instantly fell in love with this board. It takes away all the things I dislike about wave riding (particularly in Perth) and just leaves you with nothing but fun wave smashing. The following list explains what I mean.

Things I dislike about wave riding

1.going up wind after you have caught a wave- The wide body of the nugget allows amazing upwind the only thing better I have found is a course board

2.Onshore or side onshore wind- The width and floatation of the nugget allows you to continue to have forward speed and ride a wave even when your kite is stalling where as conventional boards will sink.

3. Riding waves in the 12-20 knot range- with conventional boards getting out in the lighter days is hard work and usually requires a bigger slower kite. When I tried the nugget it was 12-18 knots I was powered on my ten. No one else was out and the waves had awesome shape because the wind hadn't got to them.

The only negative I can think of is if you where out in Margaret river sized waves, because of the width and fish shape, you may find it bouncy down the face. However it is perfect for any conditions that Perth can through at us and I recommend you do yourself a favour and give it a go.

If you want to Demo it let me know and I can organise it.

Give me a text on 0450105063

Cheers

Dan

COL
NSW, 551 posts
22 Oct 2013 6:33PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Dan Anderson said..
Recently I had a session on a mates north Nugget 5'2 2014 and instantly fell in love with this board.
If you want to Demo it let me know and I can organise it.