Forums > Stand Up Paddle General

12'6 vs 14 - myths and legends?

Created by AA > 9 months ago, 30 Aug 2012
AA
NSW, 2159 posts
30 Aug 2012 10:17AM
Thumbs Up

Reading another popular thread here on board length you would be excused, for being totally confused if you're an average paddler like me.

I am no race expert, I paddle a bit (once to twice a week) and whenever I do, I do it for fun and fitness. I almost always paddle in the ocean and if I race the only thing I hope to beat is my mate and maybe my PB.

With this in mind, I would just like to put my experiences out there for the hundreds of crew who I know will read these threads, get confused, not comment and probably come to the conclusion that choosing a longer board is just waaay to confusing.

Here are some observations after many years of paddling around on just about anything that floats and discovering that longer boards are HEAPS FUN!

WIDER can be faster!
Why? Staying on your board and keeping your stroke technique up right till the end is key.
Most paddling and racing for that matter is done in less than average conditions and the ability to stay on your board, relaxed and not weary is the key to speed and enjoyment.
What ever gains there are in shaving inches of the width of a board are completely lost if you end up swimming or get jelly legs.
Jelly legs? This hits most of us about 30 mins into a paddle when its windy and choppy and even a 30" wide board suddenly feels like a tooth pick to stand on.

LONGER is faster, especially if you are in the 100k club.
Unless you are training in the gym, forget strength to weight ratio's. Most of us are not optimal body weight with strength to match.
My experience is that if you want to go faster go longer. Longer boards tend to stay on runners longer with less effort.
Sure, a longer board takes more effort to get going but once its up and running it has more momentum.