Forums > Kitesurfing Foiling

Moses 683

Created by Duff15 > 9 months ago, 28 Jan 2019
Duff15
VIC, 249 posts
28 Jan 2019 8:12PM
Thumbs Up

A big thanks to Ben a Foilsport for setting me up with this beauty.

I have been foiling for 2 years and have ridden a range of different brands. Previous to this I was on the Moses 590 on the 91 mast.

I was in the market for a foil that could;
Carve hard
Be ridden in 12knots on a inflatable
Still carry a fair top end speed
Learn strapless
And be attched to a prone surfboard.

I believe the 683 is that wing. Yet to attach it to a surfboard but all other boxes have been ticked.

Compared to the 590, the 683 is smoother on breaches, very early lift, similar top speed and feels much smoother on the water and turns on the dial.

Very happy customer.

djdojo
VIC, 1607 posts
29 Jan 2019 11:37PM
Thumbs Up

Hi mate, can you tell me what the fuselage is made from?

benmj
VIC, 71 posts
30 Jan 2019 10:18AM
Thumbs Up

Its Aluminium, really nicely finished.

djdojo
VIC, 1607 posts
30 Jan 2019 7:12PM
Thumbs Up

Seems strange to go to all that effort to design a foil that gets rave reviews for performance and then not go full carbon. In case you're chatting with the company people, let them know that aluminium is a deal-breaker for some potential customers. No offence meant, just sincere feedback.

benmj
VIC, 71 posts
31 Jan 2019 12:07PM
Thumbs Up

Yep heard this before from you.
Please come check it out for yourself. You can grab any model from me and go for a ride and check out all the parts. I would love to hear your thoughts after taking one for a spin.
3 years now as Moses Australia dealer and not a single problem with this fuselage. And have asked this of Moses before (shared your concerns) and world wide this is still the best way to go.
There is an argument with the race foil market for sure due only to the weight.
No corrosion even when not cared for properly.
No problems with fastenings which is really tricky with carbon.